ROADTRIP U.S. WESTCOAST | BIG SUR TO SAN FRANCISCO

Leaving the buzz of L.A. behind us, our roadtrip continues. In front of us lies the pacific coast highway – also known as California State Route 1. Follow us on our way via Santa Barbara, Big Sur, Monterey to our ultimate place of destination: San Francisco.

After the first part of our roadtrip, which you can still find here, today you can join us on our route to San Francisco.

1. Santa Barbara

Driving north from L.A. and Malibu, you’ll soon arrive at Santa Barbara. People also call it the “American Riviera” because of its mediterranean climate and the spanish influences. We stayed here for one night, which is totally enough to get a feeling of this city. There isn’t much sightseeing to do. It’s more like wandering around the streets, taking a glance at the old mission and getting into that relaxed vibe of Santa Barbara. It feels like time stands still here, which leads to deeply relaxation. 🙂

 

What to do:

  • Try the French Toast at Jeannine’s Bakery
  • Or have some Pancakes at IHOP
  • Check out the beautiful building of the Old Mission
  • Go shopping on State Street with lots of cute little shops & the usual retailers
  • Have an unforgettable dinner at Hendry’s boathouse while watching the sunset
  • Relax at the several beautiful beaches

sb 2sb 5collage sb

2. Big Sur

The next day, we started early to get onto Highway 101 , which leads also to the Highway number 1 , that is one of the oldest highways in the U.S. The best thing about it is, that you’ll drive directly next to the seaside. Imagine yourself driving a convertible, on the right hand side the mountains and rough landscape of northern California and left to your side the pacific waves smashing onto the coast. Driving this route was definitely one of the best parts of our roadtrip!

Our first quick stop was around San Luis Obispo. Here you’ll find one of the most famous motels of the U.S: the Madonna Inn. It is sure one of the craziest hotels I’ve ever been to, because you’ll see so much “Kitsch” here! 😉 Each of the rooms has a different theme, plus there is a restaurant and a souvenir shop. Such a crazy place…
Driving further north, you can decide whether you want to stay on the highway 101 (upcountry) or the California State Route 1, which is running just besides the coast. We took the highway 1, making our way onto Big Sur and Carmel-by-the-sea. The landscape here is just breathtaking! Following the Pacific Coast Highway, you’ll automatically drive over the famous Bixby Bridge.
Btw, Carmel by the sea is one of the most expensive cities in the U.S, so try to find a hotel in Monterey, which is just around the corner. Monterey itself is also known for “Forrest Gump” and they have a great mall for shopping. 😉

What to do:

  • Take the 17-MileDrive which is an Ocean cruise along to Pebble Beach
  • For bad weather days: go shopping, for example here
  • Feel like Forrest Gump in Monterey – while sitting on his bench and thinking “Life is like a box of chocolates”…
  • …or have lunch at the “Bubba Gumps”, the famous shrimp cutter from the movie 😉
  • Take your coffee to go and stroll along the Cannery Row (Monterey)
  • Relax at the beaches around Pacific Grove

big sur 1collage 2big sur 4 collage 1 big sur 7collage 3big sur 6 collage 4

3. San Francisco

The last part of our trip was the drive from Monterey to San Francisco. Maybe it’s because I didn’t expect that much (like I did from Los Angeles). But SF really left me speechless! This city is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G, guys! 🙂 I don’t know where to start. Ok, practical things first: make sure you rent a car to get from A to B. The public transport is not as good as we thought, so we used a lot of Uber, as we already gave back our car. Regarding sightseeing, make sure you’ll visit Chinatown with its colorful shops and streets. Another favorite part was the boat ride to Sausalito. There we took the bus back to San Francisco, of course driving over the famous Golden Gate Bridge! The Mission District is another favorite of mine. Here you’ll find mostly hispanic influences and its typical wall paintings (Murales).
So there is lots of sightseeing to do! We didn’t even made it to Alcatraz, as you need to book your ticket weeks in advance (which we didn’t know – oopsy). Make sure you plan minimum three days here, in order to relax and enjoy your stay. For sure it’s not only the vibe of the city, but also the people living there. We met so many nice and helpful people in San Francisco. And I don’t mean the usual “american-fake-smiling”, no, really honest and friendly humans. So, San Francisco was definitely a highlight and I am already looking forward coming back here. 🙂

What to do:

  • Take a look at the beautiful wall paintings (Murales) in Mission District
  • Buy Gucamole and Nachos & sit down in the Dolores Park
  • Of course: drive over Golden Gate Bridge
  • Take a picture in front of the famous “Painted Ladies” (Alamo Square Park)
  • Have another In ‘N’Out Burger
  • Drive down Lombard Street, one of the crookedest streets of the U.S.
  • Feel like a hippy walking through Haight Ashbury
  • Visit Chinatown and get lost in all its quirkiness  😉
  • Have a “Coffee the hipster way” at Sightglass Coffee

sf 1collage sf 2sf 6-1sf 5collage sf 1 sf 9sf 4 sf 8 sf 10-1

 

 

8 Comments

  1. Wednesday August 17th, 2016 / 08:45 AM

    Das sieht alles soo toll aus!

  2. Monday August 15th, 2016 / 02:37 PM

    Tolle Impressionen – ich vermisse das alles einfach so sehr <3
    Liebe Grüße, Fiona THEDASHINGRIDER.com

  3. Sunday August 14th, 2016 / 12:54 PM

    Ohh die Fotos und Eindrücke sind wirklich bezaubernd! Den Post speichere ich mir auch gleich mal ab den West Küste steht bei mir auch noch ganz hoch auf der Reiseliste! Grade die Foodie Tips werde ich mir merken 🙂

    Sophie xx http://basicapparel.de

    • Monday August 15th, 2016 / 02:45 PM

      Wow das freut mich & die Route ist definitiv weiterzuempfehlen 🙂
      xxx

  4. Sunday August 14th, 2016 / 10:35 AM

    Wunderbarere Beitrag & sehr informativ. Ich würde definitiv auch den Highway entlang der Küste nehmen. Manchmal ist so etwas einfach viel schöner & ich kann mir richtig gut vorstellen wie schön das gewesen sein muss!

    Sophie♥

    • Monday August 15th, 2016 / 02:37 PM

      Ohja, die Route ist wunderbar & nur zu empfehlen 🙂

  5. Sunday August 14th, 2016 / 09:48 AM

    Such an amazing post – thank you so much for sharing! I’ll plan a roadtrip for christmas and this is the perfect inspiration!
    xx, Mirjam // http://www.miiju.ch

    • Monday August 15th, 2016 / 02:37 PM

      Thank you babe – have a great trip <3
      xxx

ROADTRIP USA PART 2 | VON BIG SUR NACH SAN FRANCISCO

ROADTRIP USA PART 2 | VON BIG SUR NACH SAN FRANCISCO

Im ersten Part des Roadtrips habe ich euch von San Diego über Huntington und Newport bis nach Los Angeles geführt. Heute geht nun die Reise weiter über den Highway 101 und der California State Route 1. Von L.A. gehts über Santa Barbara, Monterey und Big Sur bis nach San Francisco.

1. Santa Barbara

Nächster Stopp unserer Route gen Norden war Santa Barbara. Mir war SB vor allem als Universitätsstadt bekannt. Daher waren wir positiv überrascht, denn wir wussten gar nicht, dass dieser süße Ort auch als „Amerikanische Riviera“ bezeichnet wird. Dies rührt daher, dass die Temperaturen hier recht mediterran sind, und man überall den spanischen Einfluss spürt. Es gibt nicht allzu viele Sehenswürdigkeiten, aber z.B. die Alte Mission und die Hauptpromenade im Ort laden zum Verweilen ein. Hier kann man auch super shoppen und durch kleine Läden bummeln. (Kaum zu glauben, aber dies war der Ort, wo ich am meisten geshoppt habe und nicht etwa L.A. oder San Francisco!) Nachmittags gehts dann an den Strand, wo man auch super den Abend ausklingen lassen beim Dinner mit Blick aufs Meer.

What to do:

  • Try the French Toast at Jeannine’s Bakery
  • Or have some Pancakes at IHOP
  • Check out the beautiful building of the Old Mission
  • Go shopping on State Street with lots of cute little shops & the usual retailers
  • Have an unforgettable dinner at Hendry’s boathouse while watching the sunset
  • Relax at the several beautiful beaches

sb 2sb 5collage sb

2. Big Sur

Am nächsten Morgen ging es für uns von Santa Barbara aus weiter gen Norden. Einen ersten kurzen Stopp haben wir in San Luis Obispo eingelegt. Hier steht wohl eines der verrücktesten Motels der USA: das Madonna Inn. Hier trieft es nur so vor Kitsch! 😀 Jedes der Zimmer ist einem Thema gewidmet und es gibt außerdem ein äußerst kurioses Restaurant und einen Souvenir-Shop. Echt abgefahren…

Weiter geht es dann zunächst noch auf dem Highway 101, der sich aber bald gabelt. Wählt man hier nun den Pacific Coast Highway 1, führt einen diese Strecke direkt entlang der Küste. Nun stellt euch vor ihr fahrt in einem Cabrio, rechts von euch die etwas karge und raue Landschaft Nordkaliforniens und links von euch die stürmischen Wellen des Pazifiks. Einfach unbeschreiblich! Die Fahrt auf diesem Part der California State Route 1 war definitiv ein Highlight unseres gesamten Roadtrips! Unterwegs fahrt ihr auch über die berühmte Bixby Bridge.
Schließlich landet ihr dann in Monterey und Carmel-by-the-sea. Dabei ist Carmel einer der teuersten Orte in den USA. Daher schaut euch am besten nach einem Hotel in Monterey um, was gleich nebenan und meistens günstiger ist. Monterey ist außerdem auch sehr berühmt aus dem Film „Forrest Gump“. Plus, man kann in der Mall echt gut shoppen… 😉

What to do:

  • Take the 17-MileDrive which is an Ocean cruise along to Pebble Beach
  • For bad weather days: go shopping, for example here
  • Feel like Forrest Gump in Monterey – while sitting on his bench and thinking „Life is like a box of chocolates“…
  • …or have lunch at the „Bubba Gumps“, the famous shrimp cutter from the movie 😉
  • Take your coffee to go and stroll along the Cannery Row (Monterey)
  • Relax at the beaches around Pacific Grove

big sur 1collage 2big sur 4 collage 1 big sur 7collage 3big sur 6 collage 4

3. San Francisco

Den krönenden Abschluss unseres Roadtrips bildete San Francisco. Ehrlich gesagt wusste ich nicht wirklich, was mich hier erwartet. Und gerade das war wahrscheinlich – im Vergleich zu Los Angeles – auch der entscheidende Vorteil. San Francisco hat mich einfach überrollt (im positive Sinne) und alle meine Erwartungen übertroffen! Nur eine wichtige Sache noch vorab: kümmert euch defintiv um einen Mietwagen. Leider hatten wir unseren bereits am ersten Tag des SF-Aufenthalts zurückgegeben. Und der öffentliche Nahverkehr ist leider nicht allzu gut ausgebaut. Daher haben wir extrem viel Uber genutzt, sodass sich insgesamt wohl doch wieder ein Wagen gelohnt hätte.

Bezüglich Sightseeing hat San Francisco unglaublich viel zu bieten! Gestartet haben wir in Chinatown, wo es ziemlich bunt und laut hergeht. Ein weiteres Highlight war außerdem die Bootsfahrt rüber nach Sausalito. Von dort aus sind wir dann mit dem Bus über die Golden Gate Bridge zurückgefahren. Außerdem müsst ihr unbedingt den Mission District besuchen. Hier spürt man die spanischen/ lateinamerikanischen Einflüsse an jeder Ecke und man kann tolle Wandmalereien (Murales) bestaunen.
Wie ihr seht gibt es unglaublich viel zu sehen und auszuprobieren! Und dabei haben wir es noch nicht mal nach Alcatraz geschafft. Denn, damit ihr nicht denselben Fehler macht: hier muss man Tickets bereits Wochen im Voraus bestellen. Aber es ist nicht nur der Vibe der Stadt, der mir so gefallen hat. Auch die Menschen, die wir hier getroffen haben, waren alle unheimlich nett und hilfsbereit. Und ich meine nicht dieses typische „oberflächliche Fake-Amerika-Grinsen“. Sondern echte, ehrlich gemeinte Freundlichkeit. San Francisco war definitiv ein Highlight und ich freue mich schon, einmal wieder zu kommen.

What to do:

  • Take a look at the beautiful wall paintings (Murales) in Mission District
  • Buy Gucamole and Nachos & sit down in the Dolores Park
  • Of course: drive over Golden Gate Bridge
  • Take a picture in front of the famous „Painted Ladies“ (Alamo Square Park)
  • Have another In ‚N’Out Burger
  • Drive down Lombard Street, one of the crookedest streets of the U.S.
  • Feel like a hippy walking through Haight Ashbury
  • Visit Chinatown and get lost in all its quirkiness  😉
  • Have a „Coffee the hipster way“ at Sightglass Coffee

sf 1collage sf 2sf 6-1sf 5collage sf 1 sf 9sf 4 sf 8 sf 10-1

 

 

8 Kommentare

  1. Mittwoch, der 17. August 2016 / 08:45

    Das sieht alles soo toll aus!

  2. Sonntag, der 14. August 2016 / 12:54

    Ohh die Fotos und Eindrücke sind wirklich bezaubernd! Den Post speichere ich mir auch gleich mal ab den West Küste steht bei mir auch noch ganz hoch auf der Reiseliste! Grade die Foodie Tips werde ich mir merken 🙂

    Sophie xx http://basicapparel.de

    • Montag, der 15. August 2016 / 14:45

      Wow das freut mich & die Route ist definitiv weiterzuempfehlen 🙂
      xxx

  3. Sonntag, der 14. August 2016 / 10:35

    Wunderbarere Beitrag & sehr informativ. Ich würde definitiv auch den Highway entlang der Küste nehmen. Manchmal ist so etwas einfach viel schöner & ich kann mir richtig gut vorstellen wie schön das gewesen sein muss!

    Sophie♥

    • Montag, der 15. August 2016 / 14:37

      Ohja, die Route ist wunderbar & nur zu empfehlen 🙂

  4. Sonntag, der 14. August 2016 / 09:48

    Such an amazing post – thank you so much for sharing! I’ll plan a roadtrip for christmas and this is the perfect inspiration!
    xx, Mirjam // http://www.miiju.ch

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.